Daiquiri

Daiquiri

I don’t think I’d ever actually had a daiquiri until maybe a year ago. I’d certainly had variants and close relatives, but I’d instinctually stay clear of anything with “daiquiri” in the title, assuming it would be nothing but overly-sweet fruit juice and cheap rum. My conversion came at Drink, where the bartender had figured out my taste and followed up another rum cocktail with an Old Monk daiquiri and I finally understood.

2 oz rum (Appleton 12 year)
1 oz lime juice
0.5 oz simple syrup (turbinado)

Shake and strain
Garnish with a lime wheel (optional)

This version is a little heavier on the rum than the usual recipe and also made with darker rum. I like that this is simultaneously refreshing and a bit boozy. It’s nice and sharp initially, but gives way to the funkier burned sugar flavors of the turbinado syrup and the rum that are so present in the nose.

One thought on “Daiquiri

Leave a Reply

